The Ohio Senate Tom Niehaus, President Eric Kearney, Minority Leader



The Ohio House of Representatives Bill Batchelder, Speaker Armond Budish, Minority Leader

OHIO CONSTITUTIONAL MODERNIZATION COMMISSION

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE February 2, 2012

Contact: Speaker Batchelder's Office (614) 466-8140 Chairman Sykes's Office (614) 466-3100

Constitutional Modernization Commission Extends Deadline for Public Member Appointments

COLUMBUS—Speaker William G. Batchelder (R-Medina) and Rep. Vernon Sykes (D-Akron), Co-Chairs of the Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission, announced that they have received over 150 applications for the 20 public member seats from a highly qualified and impressive pool of Ohioans.

Due to concerns from the public that the application process was not adequately publicized, the Commission, with the approval of all four legislative caucuses, has extended the deadline for submission of applications to **Wednesday**, **February 29**, **2012**. A cover letter and a resume should be received by either of the Co-Chairs by this date at the following address or email:

Speaker William Batchelder, Co-Chair Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission 77 South High Street Columbus, Ohio 43215 District69@ohr.state.oh.us Rep. Vernon Sykes, Co-Chair Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission 77 South High Street Columbus, Ohio 43215 john.meacham@ohr.state.oh.us

The Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission is a bipartisan committee charged under R.C. 103.61 with examining the state constitution and making recommendations to the Ohio Legislature. Under the statute, appointees to the Commission shall serve without compensation for terms that expire on January 1st of every even-numbered year. A summary of H.B. 188, which established the Commission, is available online at:

http://www.lsc.state.oh.us/analyses129/11-hb188-129.pdf.

-30-