The Ohio Senate Tom Niehaus, President Eric Kearney, Minority Leader



The Ohio House of Representatives William G. Batchelder, Speaker Armond Budish, Minority Leader

Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE August 14, 2012

Contact: Speaker Batchelder's Office (614) 466-8140 Rep. Sykes's Office (614) 466-3100

Constitutional Modernization Commission Announces Meeting to Take Action on Public Member Appointments

COLUMBUS—Speaker William G. Batchelder (R-Medina) and Rep. Vernon Sykes (D-Akron), Co-Chairs of the Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission, today announced that the Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission will be meeting at 10AM on Thursday September 13, 2012 in Statehouse Room 121 to appoint 20 at-large public members to the commission.

"I am so pleased that we have been able to move forward with the selection of these twenty Ohioans," said Rep. Sykes. "It is a daunting task to review all the applications and resumes from so many qualified people who have a real passion and interest in their government and state constitution. There is no doubt that having twenty diverse voices speak out through this process is much needed."

The initial term of Commission members ends on December 31, 2012, after which they may be reappointed to two-year terms. The Constitution Modernization Commission will dissolve once its work is complete, on or before July 1, 2021.

"I look forward to having a full commission in place so that we can begin the vigorous work of reviewing Ohio's Constitution and proposed amendments in a thoughtful and deliberative way," stated Speaker Batchelder.

All proposed changes must be approved by two-thirds of the commission members in order to be presented to the General Assembly, which would then have to pass them by three-fifths majority to place them on the ballot for Ohio voters to approve. The Commission will present its first report to the General Assembly as early this fall.

More information on the Commission and a form for subscribing to future Commission notices is available at <u>http://www.ocmc.ohio.gov</u>.

-30-

Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission • Speaker William G. Batchelder & Rep. Vernon Sykes, Co-Chairs 77 South High Street, Columbus, Ohio 43215