**Co-Chair** Vernon Sykes, Representative 34<sup>th</sup> House District



Co-Chair William G. Batchelder, Speaker 69<sup>th</sup> House District

## **OHIO CONSTITUTIONAL MODERNIZATION COMMISSION**

**For Immediate Release:** April 25, 2013

**Contact:** Speaker Batchelder's O

Speaker Batchelder's Office (614) 752-9900 Co-Chairman Sykes's Office (614) 466-3100

## Speaker Batchelder and Representative Sykes Announce Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission Committee Assignments

COLUMBUS—Speaker of the Ohio House William G. Batchelder (R-Medina) and State Representative Vernon Sykes (D-Akron), who serve as Co-Chairs of the Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission (OCMC), announced that members of the Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission have recently been assigned to committees, which are organized to focus on specific Constitution-related subject matters as well as issues including budgeting, ethics and public information.

"Each committee will be tasked with examining a particular area of the Ohio Constitution and making recommendations about modernizing this sacred document," said Speaker Batchelder. "I have confidence that the members of these committees will delve into these issues with the utmost diligence and efficiency."

"I am delighted we are making progress in our organizational efforts," said Representative Sykes. "We are now prepared to address important issues that will affect the state of Ohio."

Each OCMC member serves on one standing committee and two subject matter committees, and all public members will serve as either a chair or vice chair of one of the committees. Legislative members will not serve as chairs or vice chairs.

The committee titles and duties are as follows:

## **Standing Committees**

a) <u>Organization and Administration</u>: Budgeting, staffing, ethics and procedural rules; recommendations to the commission as a whole for new members as commission members leave the commission *Public members: Richard Walinski (chair), Joseph Rugola (vice chair), Charles Kurfess, Paula Brooks, Douglas Cole Legislative members: President Faber, Representative Clyde, Senator Cafaro* 

- b) <u>Public Education and Information</u>: Public information, education, and information to and from the citizens of Ohio and the commission and on its proposals *Public members: Roger Beckett (chair), Larry Macon (vice chair), Richard Saphire, Chad Readler, Justice French Legislative members: Senator Tavares, Representative Murray, Senator Widener*
- c) <u>Liaison with Public Offices</u>: Public information and relations with any and all public offices reasonably affected, if at all, by a commission proposal *Public members: Herb Asher (chair), Robert Taft (vice chair), Fred Mills, Edward Gilbert, Karla Bell Legislative members: Representative Amstutz, Representative Huffman, Senator Skindell*
- d) <u>Coordinating</u>: To assign subject areas of the Ohio Constitution and proposals to various Subject Matter committees, and to ensure that the Subject Matter committees move forward on a timey basis with responses and viewpoints on proposals

Public members: Kathleen Trafford (chair), Jo Ann Davidson (vice chair), Patrick Fischer, Dennis Mulvihill, Janet Abaray

Legislative members: Speaker Batchelder, Senator Obhof, Representative Sykes

## Subject Matter Committees

a) <u>Bill of Rights & Voting Rights</u>

Public members: Richard Saphire (chair), Justice French (vice chair), Edward Gilbert, Karla Bell, Patrick Fischer, Douglas Cole

Legislative members: Representative Clyde, Senator Skindell, Representative Amstutz, Senator Widener

- a. Art. I Sections on Rights of All [Sections 1-4, 6, 7, 11, 13, 17-19, 19b, 20 and 21]
- b. Art. V (Elective Franchise)
- c. Art. XVII (Elections)
- d. Voting rights
- b) Legislative Branch and Executive Branch

Public members: Fred Mills (chair), Paula Brooks (vice chair), Larry Macon, Kathleen Trafford, Joseph Rugola, Jo Ann Davidson, Robert Taft

Legislative members: Representative Sykes, Senator Tavares, President Faber, Representative Huffman

- a. Art. II (Legislative)
- b. Art. XI (Reapportionment)
- c. Art. XIV (Livestock Standards Care Review Board)
- d. Term limits
- e. Redistricting and reapportionment
- f. Art. III (Executive)
- g. Art. IX (Militia)
- h. Global and interstate/regional economic development
- c) Education, Public Institutions, and Miscellaneous & Local Government

Public members: Chad Readler (chair), Edward Gilbert (vice chair), Paula Brooks, Larry Macon, Joseph Rugola, Roger Beckett, Robert Taft

Legislative members: Representative Sykes, Representative Clyde, Representative Huffman, President Faber

- a. Art. VI (Education)
- b. Art. VII (Public Institutions)
- c. Art. XV (Miscellaneous)
- d. School funding
- e. Art. X (County and township organization)
- f. Art. XVIII (Municipal Corporations)
- g. Home rule
- h. Adjoining regionalization and economic development
- d) Judicial Branch & the Administration of Justice

Public members: Janet Abaray (chair), Patrick Fischer (vice chair), Dennis Mulvihill, Richard Saphire, Justice French, Richard Walinski, Charles Kurfess

Legislative members: Representative Murray, Senator Skindell, Senator Obhof, Speaker Batchelder

- a. Art. IV (Judicial)
- b. Art. I Sections on the Rights under Justice [Sections 5, 8-10a, 12, 14, 15, 16 and 19a]
- c. Judicial organization
- d. Criminal and civil justice system
- e. Rights of the criminally accused
- e) <u>Finance, Taxation & Economic Development</u>

Public members: Douglas Cole (chair), Karla Bell (vice chair), Herb Asher, Kathleen Trafford, Jo Ann Davidson, Fred Mills

Legislative members: Senator Cafaro, Senator Tavares, Representative Amstutz, Senator Widener

- a. Art. VIII (Public Debt and Public Works)
- b. Art. XII (Finance and Taxation)
- c. Art. XIII (Corporations)
- d. Tax Reform
- e. Statewide intrastate economic development
- f) <u>Constitutional Revisions & Updating</u>

Public members: Dennis Mulvihill (chair), Charles Kurfess (vice chair), Janet Abaray, Herb Asher, Roger Beckett, Chad Readler, Richard Walinski Legislative members: Representative Murray, Senator Cafaro, Speaker Batchelder, Senator Obhof

- a. Art. II, Sec. 1 (Legislative Initiative/Referendum)
- b. Art. XVI (Amendments)
- c. Initiative
- d. Referendum

The commission also hired Steve Steinglass as a consultant until June 30, 2013.

The OCMC is modeled after the 1970s Ohio Constitutional Revision Commission and is tasked with studying the Constitution of Ohio, promoting an exchange of experiences and suggestions respecting desired changes in the Constitution, considering the problems pertaining to the amendment of the Constitution, and making recommendations from time to time to the General Assembly for the amendment of the Constitution.

-30-