**Co-Chair** Vernon Sykes, Representative 34<sup>th</sup> House District



**Co-Chair** William G. Batchelder, Speaker 69<sup>th</sup> House District

## Senate Members

Larry Obhof, Majority Whip Bill Coley Bob Peterson Charleta B. Tavares Michael J. Skindell

## House Members

Capri S. Cafaro

Peter Stautberg Ron Amstutz Kathleen Clyde Dennis Murray

## Public Members

Janet Abaray Herb Asher Roger L. Beckett Karla L. Bell Paula Brooks Douglas R. Cole JoAnn Davidson Patrick F. Fischer Judith L. French Edward L. Gilbert Charles F. Kurfess Larry L. Macon Frederick E. Mills Dennis P. Mulvihill Chad A. Readler Richard R. Saphire Bob Taft Kathleen M. Trafford Richard S. Walinski

## OHIO CONSTITUTIONAL MODERNIZATION COMMISSION MINUTES September 12, 2013

Representative Huffman called the meeting of the Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission meeting to order at 2:12pm and asked staff to call the roll. The following members were present:

Janet Gilligan Abaray Rep. Ron Amstutz Herb Asher Roger L. Beckett Paula Brooks Rep. Kathleen Clyde Douglas Cole Jo Ann Davidson Edward Gilbert Rep. Matt Huffman Charles Kurfess Dr. Larry Macon Fred Mills Dennis P. Mulvihill Rep. Dennis Murray Sen. Larry Obhof Sen. Bob Peterson Chad A. Readler Richard B. Saphire Sen. Michael Skindell Rep. Vernon Sykes Robert A. Taft Kathleen Trafford Richard Walinski

Representative Huffman informed the members of the Commission that Speaker Batchelder has asked him to sit in his place as Co-Chair for the meeting, due to his absence.

Staff noted that communication regarding anticipated absences had been received from Speaker Batchelder, Karla Bell, Senator Cafaro, Senator Coley, Judge Fischer, Justice French, and Senator Tavares prior to the meeting.

Representative Huffman asked the members to review and approve the minutes from the August 10, 2013 meeting. Without objection, the minutes from the August meeting were approved.

Representative Huffman shared with the Commission the recommendation made by Co-Chairs Batchelder and Sykes, to hire Steve Steinglass as the Senior Policy Advisor for the Commission. The Co-Chairs interviewed the candidate per the hiring process adopted by the Commission. Senator Skindell moved to adopt the recommendation of the Co-Chairs and Roger Beckett seconded the motion. Without objection, the recommendation was adopted.

Representative Huffman brought to the attention of the Commission that the Preamble of the Constitution was not assigned to a committee and that it had been agreed upon that is should be assigned to the Bill of Rights and Voting Committee. Senator Obhof moved to assign the Preamble of the Constitution to the Bill of Rights and Voting Committee and Dennis Mulvihill seconded the motion. Without objection the motion was approved.

Representative Huffman opened the floor for the Commission to discuss the committee meeting schedule. Kathleen Trafford informed the Commission that the Coordinating Committee recommends that the full Commission meet every other month, with the committees meeting every month.

Dennis Mulvihill moved to amend the Commission rules to allow the Co-Chairs to cancel a meeting as needed, without the approval of the full Commission and Richard Walinski seconded the motion. Jo Ann Davidson moved to amend the motion to have the Commission meet every other month and allow the Co-Chairs to call a special meeting as needed with proper legal notice. Without objection the amendment to the motion was approved and without objection the amended motion was approved.

Representative Huffman noted the reports from the committees in the members folders. Without objection, the written reports of the committees were accepted.

Representative Huffman recognized Roger Beckett, Chair of the Public Education and Information Committee, to report on recommendations the committee made to the full Commission. The committee recommends that the Commission wait to hire a communications staffer until the committee has had time to put together a media plan.

Representative Huffman recognized Mr. Cole, Chair of the Organization and Administration Committee to discuss recommendations made by the committee to the Commission. Mr. Cole provided the Commission with an update on the Executive Director search and informed the Commission that 144 people had applied for the position.

Mr. Cole moved to have the Commission accept the office space available in the Vern Riffe Center on the 24<sup>th</sup> floor and Kathleen Trafford seconded the motion. Without objection, the motion was approved.

Mr. Cole moved that the Commission budget, provided for each member in their folders, be approved and Representative Clyde seconded the motion. Without objection, the motion was approved.

Representative Huffman recognized Dean Steinglass for an update on his work for the Commission. Dean Steinglass indicated that he had been working with the law schools to get interns for the Commission and that OSU had assigned him one for this current term. He also reminded the Commission about the key dates in 2014 for getting an issue on the ballot for either the primary or the general election.

Representative Huffman asked if there was any further business to come before the Commission. Seeing none, the Commission adjourned at 3:03pm

**Representative Matt Huffman** 

Rep. Vernon Sykes Co-Chair