# Co-Chair Vernon Sykes, Representative 34<sup>th</sup> House District



## Co-Chair William G. Batchelder, Speaker 69<sup>th</sup> House District

#### Senate Members

Larry Obhof, Majority

Whip

Bill Coley

Bob Peterson

Charleta B. Tavares

Michael J. Skindell

Capri S. Cafaro

## House Members

Peter Stautberg
Ron Amstutz
Kathleen Clyde

### Public Members

Dennis Murray

Janet Abaray Herb Asher

Roger L. Beckett

Karla L. Bell

Paula Brooks

Douglas R. Cole

JoAnn Davidson

Patrick F. Fischer

Judith L. French

Edward L. Gilbert

Charles F. Kurfess

Larry L. Macon Frederick E. Mills

Dennis P. Mulvihill

Dennis P. Muiviniii

Chad A. Readler

Richard R. Saphire

Bob Taft

Kathleen M. Trafford

Richard S. Walinski

# OHIO CONSTITUTIONAL MODERNIZATION COMMISSION MINUTES November 14, 2013

Speaker Batchelder called the meeting of the Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission meeting to order at 3:14pm and asked staff to call the roll. The following members were present:

Fred Mills

Janet Gilligan Abaray

Rep. Ron Amstutz Dennis P. Mulvihill Herb Asher Rep. Dennis Murray Speaker Batchelder Sen. Larry Obhof Sen. Bob Peterson Roger L. Beckett Rep. Kathleen Clyde Chad A. Readler Douglas Cole Richard B. Saphire Jo Ann Davidson Sen. Michael Skindell Judge Fischer Rep. Vernon Sykes

Justice French
Edward Gilbert
Sen. Tavares

Rep. Matt Huffman Dr. Larry Macon

Staff noted that communication regarding anticipated absences had been received from Karla Bell and Kathleen Trafford prior to the meeting.

Speaker Batchelder asked the members to review and approve the minutes from the September 12<sup>th</sup> meeting. Mr. Cole noted a typo and with that correction the minutes from the September meeting were approved without objection

Speaker Batchelder recognized Co-Chair Sykes for the purpose of a nomination. Representative Sykes nominated Pierette Talley for the open public member seat on the Commission. Senator Tavares seconded the nomination. Speaker Batchelder asked the staff to call the roll for legislative members only. With a vote of 11-0, Ms. Talley was appointed to the Commission.

Speaker Batchelder welcomed Ohio Secretary of State, Jon Husted, to present before the Commission. Secretary Husted shared his thoughts on redistricting and reapportionment and urged the Commission to act quickly on this matter.

Speaker Batchelder indicated that the full Commission may meet on December 12<sup>th</sup> in the afternoon and asked the members to plan accordingly.

Speaker Batchelder noted the reports from the committees were in the members folders. Without objection, the written reports of the committees were accepted.

Speaker Batchelder recognized Roger Beckett, Chair of the Public Education and Information Committee and Dr. Asher, Chair of the Liaisons with Public Offices Committee for a report. The Committees recommended that the Commission merge the two standing committees into one committee. Mr. Beckett asked the Commission to think on this recommendation and indicated that the Commission could take up the recommendation at a later time.

Speaker Batchelder recognized Fred Mills for a report from the Legislative Branch and Executive Branch Committee.

Speaker Batchelder recognized Dennis Mulvihhill for a report from the Constitutional Revisions & Updating Committee.

Speaker Batchelder recognized Chad Readler for a report from the Education, Public Institutions, Miscellaneous & Local Government Committee.

Speaker Batchelder recognized Richard Saphire for a report from the Bill of Rights & Voting Committee.

Speaker Batchelder recognized Speaker Davidson for a report of the Coordinating Committee.

Speaker Batchelder recognized Mr. Cole, Chair of the Finance, Taxation & Economic Development Committee for a report.

Speaker Batchelder recognized Dean Steinglass for an update on his work for the Commission. Dean Steinglass indicated that he had been working with the law schools to get interns for the Commission .

Speaker Batchelder asked if there was any further business to come before the Commission. Seeing none, the Commission adjourned at 4:27pm.

Speaker William G. Batchelder	Rep. Vernon Sykes
Co-Chair	Co-Chair